faster-dupemerge: version 0.20120103, update copyright year 2012,
authorZygo Blaxell <zblaxell@faye.furryterror.org>
Wed, 4 Jan 2012 01:37:18 +0000 (20:37 -0500)
committerZygo Blaxell <zblaxell@faye.furryterror.org>
Wed, 4 Jan 2012 06:22:50 +0000 (01:22 -0500)
document interaction between --skip-compare and --skip-hash

faster-dupemerge

index 4cdef97..2c85685 100755 (executable)
@@ -4,7 +4,7 @@ use Fcntl qw(:DEFAULT :flock);
 use File::Compare;
 use File::Temp;
 
-# Copyright (C) 2002-2010 Zygo Blaxell <faster-dupemerge@mailtoo.hungrycats.org>
+# Copyright (C) 2002-2012 Zygo Blaxell <faster-dupemerge@mailtoo.hungrycats.org>
 
 # This program is free software; you can redistribute it and/or modify
 # it under the terms of the GNU General Public License as published by
@@ -161,7 +161,8 @@ hard links).
 
         --timestamps    mtime may be different for identical files
 
-        --skip-compare  skip byte-by-byte file comparisons
+        --skip-compare  skip byte-by-byte file comparisons,
+                        compare only file hashes
 
         --skip-hash[=N] skip calculation of hash function on files
                         larger than N bytes (default 1M).
@@ -174,6 +175,12 @@ hard links).
         --verbose       report files as they are considered
 
         --zeros         hard-link zero-length files too
+
+--skip-compare and --skip-hash can be combined, in which case a file is
+either hashed (if it is below the --skip-hash size threshold) or compared
+(if it is above), but never both.
+
+Version:  0.20120103
 USAGE
 }